The Season That Was 2011-12

Today marks the first day of the new year. Yes I know, it’s not the 1st of January but today is the start of the 2012-13 cycling season for me, as today I’ll be embarking on a new training plan (more on that in another blog post). I thought it would be nice to look back over the last year, just briefly, with a few statistics and pictures!

  • Total Miles: 9000
  • Total Hours: 500
  • Average Speed: 18 mi/h
  • Longest Week:  20 hours / 350 miles
  • Longest Month: September / 51 hours / 900 miles
  • British Cycling Results: 1st, 3rd, 6th, 9th, 10th, 10th, 12th, 14th
  • Races Entered:  12
  • British Cycling Points: 28
  • Money “Earned”: £80
  • Average Race Speed: 23.8 mi/h
  • Race of the Year: http://app.strava.com/activities/16677379
  • Ride of the Year:  http://app.strava.com/activities/16301097

The best moment of my racing season was my win at the 4th category criterium at Hetton-le-Hole.

The lowest moment was falling off, on the same course, only a few weeks later! At least it was warm!

Picture of the year:

Second from the left.

This picture shows me in my best form of the season (little did I know it then). This race, near Harrogate, was a nervous one, especially in the last mile. As racers ditched themselves in the verge, and others shouted, I remained calm…and as the road started to get steeper I pressed down on the pedals. For one of the only times this year I felt fast, quickly passing others and coming home in third – what a day!

Now next year begins, with even more hopes and dreams. Bring. It. On.

2 thoughts on “The Season That Was 2011-12

  1. Good first year racing a bike. Well done Rob! I’m sure next year will see more suffering and success. Well, that is except the Gosforth RC races!! Nick.

Leave a Reply

